Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman’s Romero Shoots Final Round 69; Paladins Place Second At SoCon Championship

Valentina Romero
Valentina Romero

Hilton Head Island, S.C. – Valentina Romero (+3) fired a third round-low 69 to earn a share of third place and help Furman to a second place finish on Tuesday in the 2013 Southern Conference Women's Golf Championship at Moss Creek Golf Club's par-72 North Course in Hilton Head Island, S.C.

The Cali, Colombia, native birdied four holes and played the back nine at two-under par to complete the 54-hole tournament at three-over par and one stroke off of the lead.  Laura Wearn (+9) played her final six holes at two-under to shoot an even-par 72 and grab a share of seventh place while Alexa Rancourt (+12) finished in ninth following a final round 74.

The Paladins (+37) shot a season-best three-over 291 on Tuesday, but were unable to catch Chattanooga, who carded a 10-over 298 to finish at 31-over to claim the league title and automatic berth to the NCAA regionals.

Chattanooga's Agathe Sauzon birdied the first sudden death playoff hole to edge College of Charleston's Mary Chandler Bryan for individual medalist honors.

Wearn was named to the All-Southern Conference first team following the completion of Tuesday's round while Stephanie Carlozzi secured SoCon All-Freshman honors.

Fans can view complete statistics and results for the tournament by logging onto or at


2 Furman 302 308 291

T3 Valentina Romero 73 77 69

T7 Laura Wearn 75 78 72

T9 Alexa Rancourt 76 78 74

T16 Stephanie Carlozzi 81 75 76

T30 Aubrie Street 78 80 78


All-Southern Conference Team

Vanessa Koechli, College of Charleston

Kathy Boehm, College of Charleston

Julia Neumann, College of Charleston

Martyna Mierzwa, Elon

Laura Wearn, Furman

Fanny Cnops, UNCG

Natalie Mitchell, Samford

Jordan Britt, Chattanooga

Emily McLennan, Chattanooga

Agathe Sauzon, Chattanooga


All-Freshman Team

Julia Neumann, College of Charleston

Louise Olsson, College of Charleston

Sunna Vidisdottir, Elon

Stephanie Carlozzi, Furman

Emily McLennan, Chattanooga


Player of the Year

Fanny Cnops, UNCG


Freshman of the Year

Emily McLennan, Chattanooga


Coach of the Year

Colette Murray, Chattanooga