Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hopke & Howell Named To All-SoCon Team At SoCon Championship

Wehman Hopke
Wehman Hopke

PINEHURST, N.C. – Junior Wehman Hopke (+1) and junior Preston Cole (+1) tied for ninth, while Hopke & sophomore Bryce Howell were named to the All-Southern Conference Team, to lead Furman Tuesday in the final round of the 2015 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship at the par-72, 7,091 yard Pinehurst No. 9 in Pinehurst, N.C.  

Hopke birdied three holes on the back to score a 75 on Tuesday, while Cole added three birdies to card a 74 in the final round of play.  The Paladin duo finished ten strokes behind Western Carolina's J.T. Poston (-9), who won his second-straight SoCon individual championship after birdieing No. 18 in a sudden-death playoff with Adrian Meronk (-9) of ETSU.

Senior Michael Borton (+14) birdied No. 1 and No. 7 to score a 75 in the final round, tying for 27th, while sophomore Bryce Howell (+15) carded a 74 with a birdie on No. 10 to tie for 29th.  Freshman Adam Garrett (+17) tied for 27th after birdieing No. 10 and No. 16 for a final-round 76.

No. 40 ETSU (-2) won the team championship following a sudden-death playoff with UNCG (-2) on No. 18.  Chattanooga (+12) finished third, while Wofford (+21) claimed fourth.  The Paladins (+26) moved up two spots during Tuesday's round to finish fifth.

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


2015 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship

Pinehurst No. 9

Par 72, 7,091 yards

Pinehurst, N.C.


Team results

Place Team                       Rd1     Rd2      Total

T1         ETSU**                   286-289-287=862

T1         UNCG                    294-287-281=862

3          Chattanooga           291-293-292=876

4          Wofford                 289-299-297=885

5          Furman                   300-292-298=890

6          Western Carolina     298-288-308=894

7          Mercer                    297-293-305=895

8          Samford                 305-298-304=907


** ETSU won in sudden-death playoff


Individual leaders

Place Team                                           R1-R2-R3=Total

T1      J.T. Poston, Western Carolina**       66-70-71=207

T1      Adrian Meronk, ETSU                     69-69-69=207

3       Jake McGlone, UNCG                     71-71-69=211

4       Trey Rule, Mercer                            73-66-75=214

T5      Brannan Hudson, Wofford              67-77-71=215

T5      Roy Dixon, UNCG                          73-72-70=215

T5      Mateusz Gradecki, ETSU                68-73-74=215

T5      Wes Gosselin, Chattanooga            71-72-72=215

T9      Preston Cole, Furman                     73-70-74=217

T9      Wehman Hopke, Furman                 73-69-75=217

T9      Garrett Moores, Samford                74-72-71=217


** WCU's Poston won in sudden-death playoff


SoCon Player of the Year

Adrian Meronk, ETSU


SoCon Freshman of the Year

Andrews Weathers, Chattanooga


SoCon Coach of the Year

Fred Warren, ETSU


All-Southern Conference Team

Chris Hickman, ETSU

Adrian Meronk, ETSU

Wehman Hopke, Furman

Bryce Howell, Furman

Emmanuel Kountakis, Mercer

Trey Rule, Mercer

Roy Dixon, UNCG

Liam Johnston, Chattanooga

J.T. Poston, Western Carolina

Jeremy Grab, Wofford


All-Freshman Team

Cayman Ratliff, ETSU

Jerry Ren, Mercer

Josh Stockwell, UNCG

Andrew Weathers, Chattanooga

Evan Grenus, Wofford


5 Furman 300 292 298 890 +26

T9 Wehman Hopke 73 69 75 217 +1

T9 Preston Cole 73 70 74 217 +1

T27 Michael Borton 81 74 75 230 +14

29 Bryce Howell 76 81 74 231 +15

T33 Adam Garrett 78 79 76 233 +17