Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman Finishes Sixth At SoCon Championships; Borton Ties For Ninth Among Individuals

Michael Borton
Michael Borton

PINEHURST, N.C. – Junior Michael Borton (+3) fired a 71 in Tuesday's final round to tie for ninth place, leading the Furman men's golf team at the 2014 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship at the par-72, 7,122 yard National Golf Club in Pinehurst, N.C. 

The Paladins (+18) recorded their best round of the season on Tuesday, tying Wofford (+28) with a league-best 283, almost 10-strokes ahead of UNCG's final-round 292.  Furman finished in sixth place, nine strokes back of No. 47 Georgia Southern (+9), who won the tournament by one stroke over defending champion Chattanooga (+10).

Borton posted three birdies on the front and a birdie on No. 15 to finish the day at one-under par, while Furman freshman Bryce Howell (+4) earned a spot on the SoCon All-Freshman Team after placing 12th, also with a 71, in Tuesday's final round.  Howell birdied No. 7 to make the turn at one-under, then birdied two holes on the back to maintain the margin.

Sophomore Preston Heyward (+5) birdied three holes on the front and two on the back to card a 69, the Paladins' best round of the tournament, finishing in a tie for 13th, while sophomore Wehman Hopke (+9) birdied No. 9 then went on to birdie three of his first six holes on the back, shooting par in the final round to tie for 24th. 

Sophomore Preston Cole (+12) notched two birdies on the front and one on the back nine for a 75 on Tuesday, tying for 32nd.

Western Carolina's J.T. Poston (-10) won individual medalist honors after carding a 72 in the tournament's final day, earning the league's automatic individual bid to the NCAA Southeast Regional.  Poston finished two strokes head of Chattanooga's Chris Robb (-8), who fired a league-best 65 in the tournament's final round.  


2014 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship

National Golf Club

Par-72, 7,122 yards

Pinehurst, N.C.


Top 10 individuals

1      J.T. Poston, Western Carolina                    68-66-72=206

2      Chris Robb, Chattanooga                           74-69-65=208

3      Roy Dixon, UNCG                                      71-71-71=213

4      Charlie Martin, Georgia Southern                 75-70-71=216

5      Richard Fountain, Davidson College           75-68-74=217

T6    Carter Jenkins, UNCG                                72-70-76=218

T6    Will Evans, Georgia Southern                     71-72-75=218

T6    Cory Taylor, Wofford College                     76-76-66=218

T9    David Sargent, Davidson College               70-75-74=219

T9    Michael Borton, Furman                             75-73-71=219

T9    Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern                 77-66-76=219


Team standings

1      Georgia Southern                                       296-284-293=873

2      Chattanooga                                              297-284-293=874

3      UNCG                                                       300-285-292=877

4      Western Carolina                                        294-282-302=878

5      Davidson College                                      294-293-293=880

6      Furman                                                      296-303-283=882

7      Wofford College                                        306-303-283=892

8      Appalachian State                                      310-310-293=913

9      Elon                                                          316-294-306=916

10    Samford                                                    314-304-307=925


6 Furman 296 303 283 882 +18

T9 Michael Borton 75 73 71 219 +3

12 Bryce Howell 75 74 71 220 +4

T13 Preston Heyward 73 79 69 221 +5

T24 Wehman Hopke 76 77 72 225 +9

T32 Preston Cole 73 80 75 228 +12


SoCon Player of the Year

J.T. Poston, Western Carolina


SoCon Freshman of the Year

Carter Jenkins, UNCG


SoCon Coach of the Year

Larry Mays, Georgia Southern


All-Southern Conference

Richard Fountain, Davidson

Will Evans, Georgia Southern

Charlie Martin, Georgia Southern

Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern

Taylor Coalson, UNCG

Roy Dixon, UNCG

Carter Jenkins, UNCG

Liam Johnston, Chattanooga

Chris Robb, Chattanooga

J.T. Poston, Western Carolina



Bryce Howell, Furman

Carter Jenkins, UNCG

Wes Gosselin, Chattanooga

Ewan Scott, Chattanooga

Andrew Novak, Wofford