Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Six Furman Women's Tennis Players Earn Southern Conference Honors

Lauren Kline
Lauren Kline

GREENVILLE, S.C. – Furman women's tennis players Lauren Kline and Katherine Oudin earned All-Southern Conference honors for singles, while Paladins Kline, Alex Moreno-Kaste, Margaret Boyette, and Kelly Sullivan each earned a doubles spot on the all-conference team, the league office announced today.  Furman's Michele Stanford was honored with the SoCon's Sportsmanship Award.  

Postseason balloting was done by the league's head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own team members.

Kline, a senior from Prospect, Ky., was selected to the All-SoCon first team for singles.  She recorded a 10-11 overall record and an 6-4 conference mark in the top position for the Paladins this season.  Kline, a member of the All-Southern Conference second team for singles last year, was named to the league's all-freshman team in 2010.

Kline teamed up with Moreno-Kaste, a sophomore from Wesley Chapel, Fla., to earn all-conference first team honors for doubles, as well.  The duo put together a 12-6 overall record and 7-2 SoCon mark at flight one this season.

The second team all-conference selections are awarded based on position. Oudin, a junior from Marietta, Ga., was chosen to the team at No. 3 singles.  She posted a 13-7 overall singles record, including a 9-1 league mark, and was 10-1 for the season at flight three.

Boyette, a junior from Watkinsville, Ga., and Sullivan, a sophomore who hails from Tampa, Fla., tied with Briana Berne and Taylor Casey of Elon at the No. 3 doubles position.  The Paladin duo notched a 10-6 overall mark and 6-2 league record, all at flight three.

Stanford, a senior from Canton, Ga., was honored with the league's sportsmanship award.  She posted a 9-7 overall singles record and 4-4 SoCon mark, playing primarily at flight four for the Paladins this season.  In doubles play, Stanford went 7-8 overall and 5-2 in league matches, all at flight two.  

Elon will serve as host of the 2013 Southern Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Championships this week (April 18-21).  The four-day event features all 22 men's and women's teams from the Southern Conference.

Saturday's semifinals and Sunday's championship matches will take place at the Jimmy Powell Tennis Center on the campus of Elon University.  Thursday's opening round and Friday's quarterfinals will be split between the Jimmy Powell Tennis Center and Burlington Tennis Center. 

The College of Charleston's women's team won its third regular-season crown in the last four years.  As the No. 1 seed in the women's draw, the Cougars have advanced to Friday's quarterfinals.  Elon, UNCG and Furman all finished with 8-2 records in conference play.  The Phoenix earned the No. 2 seed by virtue of a victory over the Cougars.  Furman (13-8, 8-2 SoCon) earned the No. 3 seed, while UNCG is fourth.  Appalachian State was the final team to earn a bye through to Friday's quarterfinals, as the Mountaineers are seeded fifth.

Thursday's action in the women's bracket begins at 9 a.m. when No. 8 Samford takes on No. 9 Davidson.  Later that afternoon, seventh-seeded Georgia Southern battles No. 10 seed Wofford while No. 6 Chattanooga takes on No. 11 Western Carolina.

The Paladins will open the tournament on Friday at 1 p.m., facing the winner of Thursday's Chattanooga/Western Carolina match.

The women's championship match will be held Sunday at 10 a.m.


2013 SoCon Women's Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team


Ellie Linsell, Appalachian State

Christin Newman, College of Charleston

Jordan Johnston, Elon

Lauren Kline, Furman

Niltooli Wilkins, UNCG

Jenna Nurik, Chattanooga


Frida Jansaker/Jordan Johnston, Elon

Lauren Kline/Alex Moreno-Kaste, Furman

Niltooli Wilkins/Alex Whitehead, UNCG


Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Paola Garrido, Georgia Southern

No. 2 – Frida Jansaker, Elon

No. 3 – Katherine Oudin, Furman

No. 4 – Bryn Khoury, Elon

No. 5 – Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga

No. 6 – Gabriella Celi, Appalachian State

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Paola Garrido/Mary Phillips Smith, GSU

No. 2 – Kayla Gammie/Annette Rios, UNCG

No. 3 – Margaret Boyette/Kelly Sullivan, FUR

            Briana Berne/Taylor Casey, Elon



Clare Cox, Appalachian State

Brooke McAmis, College of Charleston

Elaina Cummer, Davidson

Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga

Kayla Jones, Chattanooga

Stacia Kissell, Western Carolina


Player of the Year

Caroline Newman, College of Charleston


Freshman of the Year

Clare Cox, Appalachian State


Sportsmanship Award

Michele Stanford, Furman


Coach of the Year

Angelo Anastopoulo, College of Charleston