Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman’s Burr Named SoCon Coach Of The Year; Paladins Place Six On All-SoCon First Team

Andrew Burr
Andrew Burr

Greenville, S.C. -- Furman head coach Andrew Burr has been voted Southern Conference Women's Soccer Coach of the Year by his peers and the Paladins matched a school record with six players named to the All-SoCon first team, it was announced on Tuesday by the league office.

Forward Molly Dwyer, midfielder Rachel Shah, defensive midfielder Sanon Williams, defender Jordan Evens, defender Quinn Lombard and goalkeeper Kellsey Weaver garnered first team All-SoCon honors after leading the Paladins to a 13-2-2 overall record, 8-0-1 league mark, a share of the SoCon regular season title and a berth in the semifinal round of this weekend's SoCon Women's Soccer Championship. Mo Trnavsky, a rookie from Spartanburg, S.C., and product of Dorman High School, was named to the SoCon All-Freshman squad.

Burr, in his 13th season in charge of the Furman program, ranks as the SoCon's all-time winningest coach with a 175-75-22 (.684) overall record and 83-32-16 (.695) SoCon mark. He has guided the Paladins to a pair of SoCon regular season titles and three SoCon Tournament crowns. Since the beginning of the 2012 season, Burr's Paladins have posted an 89-23-11 (.768) overall record and 42-8-7 (.798) SoCon regular season mark.

Dwyer, a second team All-SoCon pick in 2016, has netted nine goals and added seven assists to help power a Furman attack that paced the league with 45 goals. The senior and Knoxville, Tenn., native has led all SoCon players with five match-winning scores this season.

Shah, a native of Alpharetta, Ga., captured first team All-SoCon accolades for the second straight season by tallying three goals and ranking second in the league with eight assists. The attacking midfielder curled in a free kick to the equalizing goal in last Sunday's 2-1 victory over ETSU in the quarterfinal round of the SoCon Women's Soccer Championship. The senior ranks ninth on Furman's career assists ledger with 23.

Williams, a native of Stone Mountain, Ga., has started all 17 matches for the Paladins at defensive midfielder or left back during her senior season. She has helped the Paladins post 11 shutouts in 17 matches and notched an assist in a 3-2 loss to UAB.

Evens grew into one of the most solid center backs in the SoCon during her sophomore season. The Sarasota, Fla., native helped Furman limited the opposition to just nine goals in 17 matches, while also adding the game-winning goal in a 2-1 quarterfinal round win over ETSU on Sunday and an assists in the Paladins' 5-0 victory over the Bucs during the regular season.

A second team All-SoCon choice last season, Lombard has started 15 of 17 matches during her senior season and has helped anchor Furman's defense that ranks 15th in goals against average and 12th in shutout percentage nationally. The right back and Belleair Bluffs, Fla., native is part of a Paladin back line that has allowed just one goal during SoCon regular season play.

Weaver, a native of Newnan, Ga., garnered SoCon Player of the Week honors twice during the regular season. The sophomore led the SoCon and ranked 26th nationally with a 0.57 goals against average and directed the Paladins to a league-high 11 shutouts.

Furman's six first team All-SoCon selections equal the previous school-record total set in 2000 and 2003.

Trnavsky proved to be a versatile player who saw action in 10 matches and made two starts as a freshman. She garnered playing time on the back line and in the Paladin midfield.

No. 1 seed Furman is set to face No. 4 seed Western Carolina in the SoCon semifinals on Friday, November 3, in Birmingham, Ala. Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. ET. The winner will face the winner of Friday's Samford versus Mercer match in the championship match on Sunday, November 5, at 2 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

2017 Women's Soccer All-Conference Team
Player of the Year – Jermaine Seoposenwe, Sr., F, Samford
Defensive Player of the Year – Allie Lourie, So., D, Samford
Coach of the Year – Andrew Burr, Furman
Freshman of the Year – Chloe Arnold, Chattanooga
First Team
F                Molly Dwyer, Furman
F                Jermaine Seoposenwe, Samford
F                Hayley Younginer, Wofford
MF             Rachel Shah, Furman
MF             Sanon Williams, Furman
MF             Kaitlyn Orman, Samford
D                Jordan Evens, Furman
D                Quinn Lombard, Furman
D                Emily Jensen, UNCG
D                Allie Lourie, Samford
D                Taylor Meneide, Samford
GK             Kellsey Weaver, Furman
Second Team
F                Eleonora Goldoni, ETSU
F                Abriella Argueta, Samford
F                Megan McCallister, WCU
MF             Heida Vidarsdottir, UNCG
MF             Jordan Mueller, Chattanooga
MF             Sayres McKenna, WCU
MF             Katie Beuerlein, Wofford
D                Megan Delmonico, Mercer
D                Regan Lehman, UNCG
D                Amy Horney, VMI
GK             Anna Maddox, Samford
All-Freshman Team
Sarah Connolly, ETSU
Mo Trnavsky, Furman
Sarah Adcock, Mercer
Ally Fordham, Mercer
Quiqui Hita, UNCG
Kaley Tucker, UNCG
Caroline Orman, Samford
Lexi Orman, Samford
Grace Sommi, Samford
Chloe Arnold, Chattanooga
Maryanne Kilgore, Western Carolina

Jordan Caskey, Furman Sports Information