Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 7 Furman To Open Play At NCAA Tallahassee Regional Monday

No. 7 Furman To Open Play At NCAA Tallahassee Regional Monday

GREENVILLE, S.C. -- The seventh-ranked Furman women's golf team will open play in the 54-hole, three-day NCAA Tallahassee Regional Monday at the par-72, 6,342 yard Don Veller Seminole Golf Club in Tallahassee, Fla.

The Paladins will tee off beginning at 8:00 a.m. from No. 1 and will play the opening round in a group that includes second-ranked Alabama and No. 10 Arizona.

Furman's five-player lineup will include seniors Jacqueline Bendrick, Alice Chen, and Reona Hirai, junior Haylee Harford, and sophomore Natalie Srinivasan

The Paladins, who are the No. 2 seed in Tallahassee, are part of an 18-team regional field that will battle for a top six finish and a berth in the 24-team NCAA Championship, which will be held May 18-23 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  The Tallahassee Regional field includes six of the top 25 teams in the country led by second-ranked Alabama, No. 2 Furman, 10th-ranked Arizona, No. 15 Washington, No. 18 Wake Forest, and 22nd-ranked Vanderbilt.

Furman, which secured the Southern Conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament by capturing its 17th SoCon Championship last month at Moss Creek Country Club on Hilton Head Island, S.C., will make its fourth-consecutive and 22nd overall NCAA Regional appearance.  The Paladins appeared in 18-straight regionals from 1993, when the regional format began, until 2010.  Furman finished second last season at the NCAA Lubbock Regional in Lubbock, Texas, and went on to place 12th at the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore.

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


NCAA Tallahassee Regional Teams:

1. University of Alabama

2. Furman University (Southern Conference)

3. University of Arizona

4. University of Washington

5. Wake Forest University

6. Vanderbilt University

7. Florida State University

8. Clemson University

9. University of Georgia

10. University of Tennessee, Knoxville

11. University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Mountain West Conference)

12. Kennesaw State University (Atlantic Sun Conference)

13. University of Denver

14. Coastal Carolina University (Sun Belt Conference)

15. University of Missouri, Columbia

16. College of Charleston (South Carolina) (Colonial Athletic Association)

17. University of Richmond (Patriot League)

18. University at Albany (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)


NCAA Tallahassee Regional Individuals:

1. Hee Ying Loy – East Tennessee State University

2. Claudia De Antonio – Louisiana State University

3. Fernanda Lira – University of Central Arkansas

4. Emma Svensson – University of Central Arkansas

5. Valentina Giraldo – Jacksonville State University

6. Kaeli Jones – University of Central Florida