Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman To Open Play At NCAA Bryan Regional Thursday

2016 Furman Golf - NCAA Bryan Regional
2016 Furman Golf - NCAA Bryan Regional

BRYAN, Texas. -- The Furman women's golf team will open play in the 54-hole, three-day NCAA Bryan Regional in Bryan, Texas, on Thursday at the par-72, 6,373 yard Traditions Golf Course. 

The Paladins, ranked 19th in the latest Golfstat rankings, are set to tee-off beginning at 9 a.m. CT from No. 1 and will be playing the opening round in a group that includes No. 14 Kent State and No. 23 Texas A&M. 

Furman's five-player lineup will include SoCon Co-Player of the Year Alice Chen, who tied for first place among the individuals at the league championship, SoCon Freshman of the Year and All-SoCon selection Haylee Harford, plus All-SoCon honorees Taylor Totland and Valentina Romero.  Sophomore Jacqueline Bendrick will round out the Paladin lineup.

The Paladins are part of an 18-team regional field that will battle for a top six finish and a berth in the 24-team NCAA Championship which is set to be held May 20-25 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore. The Bryan Regional field includes six of the top 25 teams in the country led by third-ranked UCLA, No. 6 Georgia, No. 11 Arizona, No. 14 Kent State, No. 19 Furman, and No. 23 Texas A&M.

Furman, who secured the Southern Conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament by capturing its 15th SoCon Championship last month at Savannah Quarters Golf Club in Savannah, Ga., will make its second-consecutive and 19th overall NCAA Regional appearance.  The Paladins appeared in 17-straight regionals from 1993, when the regional format began, until 2010.  Furman tied for 10th at last season's NCAA East Regional in Raleigh.

The Paladins last reached the NCAA Championship in 2008,  when Furman claimed an eighth place finish at the NCAA East Regional in Athens, Ga., to advance to the NCAA Championship in Albuquerque, N.M. 

Live scoring of the NCAA Bryan Regional will be available at or by logging onto

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information




2. Georgia

3. Arizona

4. Kent State (Automatic Qualifier)

5. Furman (Automatic Qualifier)

6. Texas A&M

7. TCU

8. Texas

9. SMU

10. Louisville

11. Miami (FL)

12. Tulane

13. Campbell (Automatic Qualifier)

14. Indiana

15. Texas State (Automatic Qualifier)

16. Delaware (Automatic Qualifier)

17. Lamar (Automatic Qualifier)

18. Quinnipiac (Automatic Qualifier)



1. Laura Lonardi, Baylor University

2. Alessandra Liu, College of William and Mary

3. Bianca Pagdanganan, Gonzaga University

4. Hannah Wood, University of Oklahoma

5. Brooke Ferrell, University of Wisconsin, Madison

6. Amy Ihm, University of Iowa