Chris Motes
Chris Motes
Birth Date: 08/25/1987
Height: 6-0
Year: Senior
Hometown: Augusta, Ga.
High School: Augusta Christian
Previous College: University of Georgia

2008-09: Motes played primarily in the no. 4 singles position and posted a 12-5 overall record, including an 8-1 conference mark, to earn a spot on the All-Southern Conference second team for singles. He recorded a 15-11 doubles overall record and went 6-4 in the SoCon in the no. 2 doubles spot.

2007-08: A transfer from the University of Georgia, Chris Motes made an immediate impact on the Furman tennis team, playing at no. 4 singles and no. 1 doubles for the Paladins. He has recorded a 12-10 singles record and a 15-5 doubles record. Motes went 7-1 in conference singles play, and earned second-team all-conference honors. During the fall of his sophomore year at the University of Georgia, Motes reached the quarterfinals of both the Florida State Invitational and the Georgia Tech Invitational. He also reached the round of 16 at the Southern Intercollegiate Championships and won three matches at the ITA Southeast Regionals, while posting a 12-5 record.

2006-07: As a freshman at the University of Georgia, Motes finished the year with a 3-4 singles record. He competed at the ITA Southeast Regional Indoor Singles Championships and the Georgia Tech Invitational, and won two consolation matches at the Southern Intercollegiate Championships.

Prep/Personal: Motes led his Augusta Christian team to two Georgia Independent Schools Association (GISA) state championships, while also capturing three individual state championships. As a senior, he was ranked as a top 50 recruit by TennisRecruiting.net. Motes was a member of the Beta Club and FLAIR Club. He is the son of Phil and Leah Motes. His mother was a former tennis player at Florida State. Motes was born on August 25, 1987.

5C258A" cellpadding=3 cellspacing=0 border=0 width=300>
Motes' Career Dual Statistics

2008
Total
Singles
12-10
12-10
SoCon
7-1
7-1


Doubles
15-6
15-6
SoCon
6-2
6-2

Getting to Know Motes... Favorite Restaurant: The Country Ham House
Favorite Book: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Favorite Movie: The Patriot
Favorite TV Show: Shark Week
Craziest Ambition: To die at the age of 56 and to do the running of the bulls in Spain
Best Non-Athletic Talent: Impressions
First Job: Yard work
Something People Don't Know About Me: I like to be alone
Proudest Athletic Accomplishment: Winning the team NCAA Championship in 2007 with UGA
Most Famous Person I've Met: George W. Bush
If a movie were made about me, I'd want this actor to play me: Sawyer Duncan
Pro Player I'd Most Like to Play Against: Bill Tilden
The Reality Show I'd Go On: The Big Break
If I'm Cooking, We're Having...: Jambalaya