Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Holcomb Named to Preseason All-SoCon Team; Men’s Lacrosse Picked Fifth in SoCon Preseason Poll

Holcomb Named to Preseason All-SoCon Team; Men’s Lacrosse Picked Fifth in SoCon Preseason Poll


Greenville, S.C. – The Furman men's lacrosse team is a preseason fifth-place pick in the Southern Conference lacrosse poll conducted by the league's head coaches, it was announced today by the SoCon office.

Furman, led by 2017 SoCon Coach of the Year Richie Meade, picked up 24 points in the poll. Richmond picked up six first-place votes to total 48 points for a first-place preseason pick, while High Point was second with 39 points and a first-place vote. Air Force was picked third with 37 points, while Jacksonville nabbed the final first-place vote and was picked fourth. Bellarmine (17), Mercer (16), and VMI (seven) rounded out the poll.

William Holcomb was the lone Paladin selected as a preseason all-conference honoree. Holcomb, a First Team All-Conference selection in 2018, finished the year with 26 goals and 10 assists, while setting the school single-game goals record with seven on April 21 against Jacksonville. The Cincinnati, Ohio, nattive finished seventh in the league in scoring with 2.77 points per game.

The Paladins open the 2019 season on Saturday, February 2, welcoming Duke to Paladin Stadium for a 7:00 p.m. matchup.


2019 Preseason Southern Conference Coaches Poll

Team (1st-place votes) Total

1. Richmond (6)               48
2. High Point (1)              39
3. Air Force                      37
4. Jacksonville (1)            36
5. Furman                        24
6. Bellarmine                   17
7. Mercer                        16
8. VMI                             7


2019 Preseason All-Southern Conference team

A             Asher Nolting, High Point
A             Eric Applegate, Jacksonville
A             Teddy Hatfield, Richmond
M            Cameron Carter, Air Force
M            William Holcomb, Furman
M            Mitch Savoca, Richmond
D             Brandon Jones, Air Force
D             Dixon Smith, Jacksonville
D             Jason Reynolds, Richmond
D             Kyle Walsh, VMI
GK          Tim Troutner Jr., High Point
FO          Trent Harper, Air Force
SSM        Tate Gallagher, Richmond
LSM        Michael O'Brien, Mercer