Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Howell & Bruns Tie For 11th At SoCon Championships; Howell Earns All-SoCon Accolades

Bryce Howell Buy Now
Bryce Howell

PINEHURST, N.C. – Senior Bryce Howell (+8) and sophomore Connor Bruns (+8) tied for 11th, and Howell earned All-Southern Conference accolades to lead Furman Tuesday at the 2017 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship at the par-72, 7,118 yard Pinehurst No. 9 in Pinehurst, N.C. 

Howell, a two-time all-conference selection who hails from Blythewood, S.C., carded a final-round 75, while Bruns, a native of Duncan, S.C., scored three birdies for an even 72 on Tuesday.  The Paladin duo finished six strokes back of ETSU's Geuntae Kim (+2), who won a sudden-death playoff against UNCG's Jonathan Brightwell (+2) with a par on the 18th hole.

Freshman Keller Harper (+12) carded a 74 with three birdies to tie for 21st, and junior Hunter Nichols (+16) tied for 28th after shooting a 74 with three birdies, including consecutive birdies on No. 3 and No. 4.  Sophomore Garrison Hogan (+20) finished the tournament in a tie for 32nd after recording three birdies for a 77 on Tuesday.

The Paladins (+44) shot a 296 to conclude the tournament in sixth place.  Two-time defending champion ETSU (+18) won the title by eight strokes over UNCG (+26), while Wofford (+34) finished third.  Chattanooga (+36) took fourth place, and Western Carolina (+40) completed the top five.

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


2017 Southern Conference Men's Golf Championship

Pinehurst No. 9

Par 72, 7,118 yards

Pinehurst, N.C. 


6 Furman 309 303 296 908 +44

T11 Bryce Howell 72 77 75 224 +8

T11 Connor Bruns 80 72 72 224 +8

T21 Keller Harper 78 76 74 228 +12

T28 Hunter Nichols 79 78 75 232 +16

T32 Garrison Hogan 80 79 77 236 +20


Southern Conference Player of the Year

Andrew Novak, Sr., Wofford


Southern Conference Freshman of the Year

Jonathan Brightwell, UNCG


Southern Conference Coach of the Year

Fred Warren, ETSU


Pinnacle Award (highest GPA on winning team)

Cayman Ratliff, Jr., ETSU


All-Southern Conference

Mateusz Gradecki, Sr., ETSU

Bryce Howell, Sr., Furman

Justin Connelly, Sr., Mercer

Jonathan Brightwell, Fr., UNCG

Bryce Hendrix, So., UNCG

Josh Stockwell, Jr., UNCG

Wes Gosselin, R-Sr., Chattanooga

Brooks Thomas, Sr., Chattanooga

Dylan MacQueen, Jr., Western Carolina

Andrew Novak, Sr., Wofford


All-Freshman team

Trevor Hulbert, ETSU

Ben Reichert, ETSU

Kiko Rosete, Mercer

Jonathan Brightwell, UNCG

Harlan Winn, Samford