Furman Captures Germann Cup As SoCon’s Top Women’s Sports Program; Paladins Finish Second In Commissioner’s Cup Race

Furman men's and women's soccer earned Public Recognition Awards.
Furman men's and women's soccer earned Public Recognition Awards.

2016-17 All-Sports Standings

All-Time Cup Records

Greenville, S.C. -- Furman captured its second straight Germann Cup and finished second in the Commissioner's Cup standings for a second consecutive year, it was announced on Tuesday by the Southern Conference at its annual league meetings in Hilton Head, S.C. The Germann Cup and Commissioner's Cup are awarded annually to the Southern Conference schools fielding the league's best all-around women's and men's sports programs, respectively.

Furman's Germann Cup win was its 15th overall and third in the last four years.  The Paladins totaled 63.45 points on the year for a .906 percentage.  Furman captured SoCon championship titles in cross country, women's tennis and women's golf, while securing regular season SoCon titles in women's tennis and softball.

In the Commissioner's Cup race, Furman totaled 54.97 points and a .785 percentage to finish second to ETSU.
Furman's cross country team claimed the SoCon championship, while men's basketball and lacrosse both earned a share of the SoCon regular season titles in their respective sports.

The scoring system is modeled after the one used in determining the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup.  Scoring is conducted on a percentage basis, with only the top seven sports for each school counting toward its season total. The SoCon sponsors 11 men's sports and nine women's sports.

Each sport is worth 10 points, with each spot in the standings given equal measure relative to how many schools sponsor that particular sport.  For sports that determine a regular-season champion, a two-point bonus is awarded for winning the league tournament.  Each school's total for the year is divided by 70, the maximum number of points possible when counting seven sports, to find its percentage.

Six schools have won the Commissioner's Cup in the 48-year history of the award, including current members Chattanooga (2014-15 and 2004-05), ETSU (1982-83, 2015-16 and 2016-17) and Furman (1990-91).

Five schools have won the Germann Cup in its 31-year history. Among current schools, Furman owns a league-best 15, including 12 straight from 1992-2004.  Samford has won two (2014-15 and 2009-10) and Chattanooga won in 2007-08.

Jordan Caskey, Furman Sports Information